In the past, lectures were used as a way of teaching large numbers of students, but now with the development of technology for education, many people think there is no justification for attending lectures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is widely acknowledged that lectures were used to teach many students at the same time. However, in this day and age, the development of educational technology leads to much controversy as to whether students need to participate in lectures or not. From my point of view, I am utterly convinced that it is unnecessary to attend lectures nowadays.

First and foremost, the most frequent drawback of teaching by lectures is that students do not pay their attention during all the time listening to these speeches. Indeed, scientists consensus that there is a decline in students’ attention after 10-15 minutes of a presentation. In reality, it is common that a lecture usually lasts for more or less than 45 minutes, which contributes to the distraction of students. In contrast, modern technologies allow students to study at their own pace, which is suitable for their study and their level.

In addition, another negative aspect of lectures in education is that students mainly have to study by listening. This results in the fact the information from these cannot be restrained for a long time. Frankly, studies in this field have shown that after ten-minutes of a presentation listeners only remember 50% of what was said. By the next day that had dropped to 25%, and a week later it was 10%. Meanwhile, educational technologies give people chances to store information needed from various resources, which encourages their brain to remember for a long period. Therefore, it is clear that lectures are not as convenient as modern technologies.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that attending lectures is absolutely less beneficial, to gain information or stud,y in comparison with using technologies. Consequently, from my viewpoint, there is no need to join lectures nowadays.