People now have the freedom to work and live anywhere in the world due to the development of communication technology and transportation.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the development of communication and transportation makes people free to choose the place to live and work around the world. However, although this is beneficial in order to find the convenience of living and to reduce the living cost, the drawbacks such as local identity degradation and environmental damage must be considered.

It is true that the freedom due to the communication improvement and integrated transportation would allow the workers to select the convenient neighborhood for the family. Some people who are not interested in city crowd will choose the suburb to live as it is more comfortable and less pollution. In addition, the citizens are able to reduce the cost of living since some big cities require high expense to live, so that the village or smaller town will be chosen. The remote working can be conducted, and if the citizens want to reach some places, they will use the available transportation.

Besides the benefits, some drawbacks are worth to mention. Some inhabitants moving to another place also move their culture and habits which will assimilate to the new place. There will be a possibility of local culture degradation and new habits existence among the new neighborhood. Moreover, the freedom will affect the environment. When it is easy to live and work anywhere, there will be the new area opened for residence as long as the communication and transportation are adequate, and this will sacrifice the former forests or farmland.

To recapitulate, although the freedom to live and work anywhere is possible due to the development of communication and transportation, there will be some drawbacks of which the local culture will be degraded, and the surroundings will be damaged. However, if the people can reduce these disadvantages, the comforts will be obtained, and the household expense will be reduced.