People now have the freedom to work and live anywhere in the world due to the development of communication technology and transportation. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that with the development of communication technology and transportation, people are being more freedom to work and live anywhere they like. From my perspective, although this may have several advantages, I believe that the drawbacks are greater than the benefits.

On the one hand, the flourishing of communication technology and transportation is beneficial in some ways. Firstly, the most striking point is that internet and mobile phone technologies have revolutionized working life and play a vital role in connecting people over the world; that is why not only can citizens in these days work at home and communicate via email, online network and video conferencing but also they may save time and money. Secondly, the more cheap airline and high-speed transport systems bring about narrow physical distance, the more people might connect with others instantly at their fingertips. Finally, it is undeniable that technologies have been drawn inspiration and easily accessible to the world of knowledge. For example, dwellers, especially young people, who can open our minds and gain more experiences on their travel abroad by using low-cost airlines such as Asia, Vietjet or Jetstar.

On the other hand, I would agree that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. The prominent justification is that only when people are not keeping an eye on their phone screen while they are talking to each other, will they might have face-to-face communication. Furthermore, at least, they are partly attentive to a beep signaling that there is a missed call or a chat. In addition, because the development of transport which is the key factor influencing air pollution, traffic congestion, and global warming. For instance, the number of cars on our street is growing that is a contributing factor in rising temperatures.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it is obvious to acknowledge the dominant drawbacks of this development, but the possible benefits of communication technology and transportation should not be overlooked.