People nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our lives

generally more comfortable but many traditional values and customs have been lost

and this is a pity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undoubtedly true that we are living in a consumption-orientated society and nowadays people are strive their best for work to buy things as much as they can. Although this tendency has made life generally more comfortable, many people argued that the raise of such materialism may lead to the loss of many traditional values or customs. Personally, I strongly agree with this statement

In the one hand, the comfort and easiness that the modern lifestyle brings should not be underestimated. First of all, along with the growth of technology, people these days can take advance of the cutting-edge devices to help them with household chores. These amenities including microwave oven or refrigerator is truly obliging. Secondly, when it come to communicating, it is needless to say that so fast and convenient a communication is attributable to the electronic gadgets. Personal computer, smartphone or tablet are good cases in point.

Nevertheless, this way of living is reportedly responsible for the disappearance of traditional values and customs. Firstly, there seems to be some evidence that many traditional festivals are at risk of being forgotten. People allegedly prefer travelling to preparing customary food or doing conventional ritual. This is resulted from the hectic and nerve-racking life that drain all their energy. Secondly, there is the overlooking of family cohension. It may seem that people always up to their ears and do not have enough time for their spouse and children. It may catalyze a soulless society

To sum up, the modern lifestyle may have some benefits such as the usefulness in housework or the conveniently communication but they also brings the loss to many traditional values and customs