People's shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factors. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, going shopping has become one of the most essential demands of people’s daily life. Each person has different habits of purchasing products and there are some people who suppose that those habits are related closest to the ages of the buyers. Although I agree that ages play a vital role in making shopping decisions of many people, I still argue that there exist other factors affecting such decisions.

First of all, it is clear that a group of people who have the same age shall tend to buy certain products that are considered appropriate to their mutual hobbies. For example, the youngsters between six and twelve years old would like to possess toys such as cars or Barbie dolls; while the teenagers have the inclination for the technological devices on which they can download the video games. Therefore, many companies have relied on this feature to launch marketing campaigns that bring billion dollars of profit, but they also use other factors because not only the ages could have influences on buying habits but also the genders and media.

Regard to the gender, in the example mentioned above, the young male and female children will not play similar toys as the other. The former often plays with the cars and the models of superheroes while the latter seems to spend most of their time with the dolls or plastic cooking appliances. In terms of the media, every resident is bombarded with the advertisement of many means of media like television, leaflets, and radio. They will stimulate people to purchase unconsciously items, which is partly due to the stunning pictures as well as special effects.

In conclusion, categorizing customers based on their age is an effective way to investigate their shopping habits. However, there are numbers of factors that could create the same impact on spending habits.