People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individually and on society?

Over the course of several past years, people in many countries have experienced a sleep reduction that has attracted major attention for its multi-faceted impacts on each individual and the whole society. In this essay, the author is going to provide a brief analysis on the cause of the rising phenomenon of sleep reduction and the effects that it leaves.

To start with, the instances of shorter sleeps can be explained in various ways. Heavier workload and the burgeoning of social media are two prominent forces that are responsible for people's decision to cut back on their sleep. While the former's suffers tend to prioritize the task of meeting the growing demands of the cut-throat job markets and competitive academic institutions over their sleep, the later's let their obsession with digital networking platforms such as Facebook or Instagram encroach upon their portions of quality resting period. A person's place of residence can also affect his or her amount of sleep. Inhabitants of metropolises, for instance, are usually lured away by the availability of activities at their locations and thus stay up longer than those in the countryside. In addition, negative individual physical conditions, such as depression and diabetes, are likely to curtail people's sleep time.

It is generally observed that sleep reduction can generate detrimental influences on every person and hence, the progress of the entire society. Severe decline of sleep time can either be the chief causative agent of physical deterioration or exacerbate an already existing disease's prognosis in a person if introduced later. According to a recent research from Yale university, protracted sleep deprivation over 1 year can lead to insomnia and exert an adverse check on an individual physical well-being and attention span. As a consequence, sleep reduction, or - in worst cases - sleep loss, can pose serious threats to the society's workforce's productivity. Besides, considering the growth of workplace competition, social media, and urbanization, sleep lessening can become a trend and future human generations could be even more vulnerable to its harmful effects. The result of such soar in sleep reduction incidence could a impediment to social advancements.

In conclusion, sleep reduction is the result of many issues that people are facing. The corollaries of sleep shortening could disrupt a person's life and the society's course of development.