People think that countries should produce foods their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the view that it is more beneficial for a country to grow its own residents’ food than to import them from other countries. While domestic food production can bring about a number of upsides, I strongly believe that it is nigh on impossible for a country to meet its citizens’ demands and importing might be a more fausible option.

On the one hand, I agree that food self-sufficiency is advantageous to some extent. To begin with, local production of food might be a better way to ensure low-price products for residents. In fact, imported food includes transportation costs, taxation and many other charges that eventually result in the higher food price, compared to that of local products. Furthermore, if a country was able to grow its own food, it would stand a golden chance to export those agricultural products to other countries. This might help to earn revenues from the outside of the country and have a tremendous impact on its economic growth.

Despite the arguments above, I would argue that it is nearly impractical for a country to be self-dependent when it comes to food. Firstly, food production relies mostly on natural conditions, for example, weather, cultivable lands, rainfall, which cannot be adjusted regardless of how developed a country is. Take coffee, one of the most prevalent ingredients in many different kinds of drinks consumed by people across the world, as an example. Coffee trees are only able to grow at a temperature from 15 to 24 degrees celcius in rich soil with few pests or diseases. Moreover, in this integration era, when a country can comprise of a large number of people coming from various other countries in the world, it is apparent that importing food from other countries is an inevitable way for every country in order to meet their own residents’ demands.

From what has been discussed above, we may draw a conclusion that while countries can benefit from self-produced food, it is impossible for them to provide their entire population with food needed without importing some from other countries.