Many young people now know more about international pop and movie stars than famous people in the history of their countries.

What are the causes? Give solutions to increase the number of people to know about famous people in history

Nowadays there is a growing tendency of youngsters knowing much more about movie and music celebrities than historical figures of their nations. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted to improve the situation.

There are two primary reasons why the young generation prefer entertainment stars to national historical heroes. The first reason for this might be the increasing development of technology. In this digital age, a majority of young people have a smartphone or a laptop that allow them to get access to the Internet, where they are able to listen to melodious vocal performances, watch romantic movies or read articles about celebrities’ lives. Furthermore, it is the reality of history education that may lead to poor understanding of students about those who fought for their country’s freedom. In fact, students are forced to learn trite knowledge from textbooks with a large quantity of numbers, names and historical events, which would lead to the fact that they only learn history for exams and rarely remember anything afterwards.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent this problem. Firstly, history lessons should incorporate school trips to historical museums or historical sites in order to diversify learning activities, resulting in the improvement of students’ attitudes towards this subject and the emergence of enthusiasm among them. Moreover, historical movies would be an effective approach to bring learning closer to entertainment. As a result, they can have an insight into the content of the lessons and remember them thoroughly.

For what has been discussed above, we may draw a conclusion that although there are various reasons behind more favour of the young for contemporary entertaining celebrities than for historical figures, several steps could be taken to tackle this issue.