Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while other are against it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, the questions whether it is legal to abort a fetus have given rise to an endless controversy. While some people claim that abortion has to be officially abolished in society, I contend that the government should legalize this situation due to several reasons.

To commence with, there are a number of explanations as to why it is said by many that abortion should be removed permanently. A major reason for this is that it is considered immoral to abort an unborn baby from the mother’s body. A fetus is still a human-being and abortion is seen as an inhumane way to murder it. In addition, abortion can lead to mental issues for both the mothers and doctors who perform abortion surgeries. To be more specific, the women tend to feel guilty for having doctors kill their own babies and the surgeons, in the meantime, might get obsessed by the image of themselves aborting innocent fetuses. In brief, from my perspective, the aforementioned reasons for enforcing a ban on abortion seem to be understandable and plausible to some extent.

Despite the arguments above, I am of the opinion that government ought to legitimise abortion because of a myriad of justifications. Firstly, making abortion available in some prestigious hospitals is an efficient measure to reduce to risks of illegal abortion in society. In fact, there are numerous clinics, in spite of a lack of medical standards, still perform abortion surgical operations without permission from the local authorities. They usually utilise healthcare equipment which has low quality and is not antiseptic, posing a threat to the women’s well-being by causing several health-related problems such as infection. Thus, it is necessary that there are legal abortion performed by qualified doctors. Secondly, because many families do not have the financial capabilities to take care of new-born babies, government should allow women to abort the fetuses in order not to cause detrimental impacts on both the families and the babies’ lives. According to a number of studies conducted recently in Vietnam, over 60% of women getting pregnancy unexpectedly are between 17 and 24 years old, which means that the majority of them still have difficulties earning their own living. Having to take care of a baby may place an even heavier burden on their shoulders and the baby would not receive sufficient means to develop into a healthy child. Due to those reason, I strongly believe that abortion should be accepted widely in the future.

From what has been discussed above, we may draw a conclusion that although abortion might be considered unethical and seen as a reason for increased rate of mental issues among women and doctors, I concur with those who argue that this situation ought to be legitimise in society.