In many countries, truancy is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

Today society has witnessed a noticeable increase in the number of children being absent from school without permission and explanation. This phenomenon comes from several factors and can cause destructive effects on both the students and the whole population.

The first reason for this alarming situation is the problems originating from the families. It is commonly known that students coming from an imporverished family, who are struggling to earn adequate amount of money to cover raising daily expenses, are likely to play truant. Their parents, due to deficient knowledge, hardly understand the importance of education, resulting in the lack of engagement with their children’s academic lives. They can even force the children to work part-time jobs in order to ease finacial burden. Furthermore, it is the education system that play a complementary role in increasing the level of truancy. The fact that students are obligated to learn trite knowledge from books without being shown any practical benefit of what they learn to their future lives leads to the loss of interest in curricular activities amongst the youngsters and their absence from several lessons at school.

Truancy has brought negative effects on a macro level. Firstly, missing a number of lessons can make students having difficulties catching up with the knowledge taught at school. As a result, a decline in academic performance would be seen, which can cause ineligibility to attend college and the likelihood to fewer job opportunities in the future. Moreover, without supervision during the day, children are more likely to get involved in criminal activities, such as vandalism or shoplifting. This would cause detrimental impacts on the safety of the community.

From what has been discussed above, we may draw a conclusion that there are various reasons behind the increasing rate of truancy and this change can have destructive effects on both students and the society.