People today find their lives more and more dominated by their jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is said that in modern life the life of many individuals is surrounded by their jobs. I agree with statement.

Nowadays, the cost of living is rapidly growing, and most people have no choice but to work hard to meet their needs. They have to earn a lot of money to cover their expenses, including renting the house, utility bills, school enrolment of children and other important requirements. As a result, it is naturally that people are forced to work full time. In my experience, sometimes for some people office extends into the home, and they have no time to spend with their family but yet they need to avoid to generously spend money and try to have more savings. Additionally, most of the time in families with children, the income of partner cannot help and both parents have to work whether at home or out.

We can see that another reason that can make people workaholic, and their job can dominate their lives is that they may experience insufficiently reliable relationships in their families or they are in condition that love is conditioned on performance. Work may become a compensatory mechanism to help balance emotions, replace uncomfortable feelings, and achieve a sense of a fulfilling life. Sometimes, some people can only find the social respect that they need in their workplace therefore it is understandable they prefer to engage themselves with work instead of spending time with their family members.

In conclusion, in my view, many people are dependent to their work and sometimes they become addicted to it, and this situation is created by several reasons as I mentioned above.