People who live in foreign countries should follow the traditions and customs. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many people argue that foreigners should adapt to the local customs and traditions when they come to reside in a new country. I completely agree with this point of view.

Newcomers will certainly face difficulties if they do not conform to the norms of social behavior in the host country. Firstly, it will almost impossible for them to blend into their new environment. For example, a entrepreneur who come to live in a new country and start up a business must be aware of business practices of that country. There are bound to be many pitfalls, not only legal ones but also simply interm of winning and keeping customers. Secondly, recent immigrants might fall foul of the law if they do not respect the behavior and customs of local. In Singapore, for instance, resident will consider newcomers dirty and ill-mannered if they litter the street or spit gum in public places.

There are also many benefits for foreigners when they do adopt the the customs and traditions of their new country or residence. One advantage is that local people will be more welcoming when they feel that the newcomers are showing respect for the local way of life. The establishment of closer links with the host community might lead to greater integration and mutual understanding. Another benefit is the richness of the experience which newcomers will gain from enjoying aspects of local customs and traditions, enabling them to participate in community life and avoid social isolation. During festivals and national holidays, especially, they will feel like they "belong" in the new country.

In conclusion, I would argue that it is essential for new residents to follow the traditions and habits of local in the host community in order to integrate fully into society.