THE PERCENTAGE OF OVERWEIGHT CHILDREN IN WESTERN SOCIETY HAS INCREASED BY 20 % IN THE LAST 10 YEARS. DISCUSS THE CAUSES AND EFFECTS OF THIS DISTURBING TREND

In the last 10 years, the number of children who weighs more than the ideal weight has increased by 20% in the western world. This trend is very disturbing especially for the parents since the health of their child might be at risk. There are causes why this issues occurred and its effect can lead to some serious health problems.

There are plenty of reasons why a child is overweight and sometimes the one to blame are the parents. First reason is that parents think that big children are cute and healthy that’s why they feed the child more that the ideal amount of food to be given. Second is that children are fond of eating fast food and parents allow it because sometimes it serves as a reward or treat. These issues are often neglected by parents especially when they ae busy and no time to cook healthy food for their children.

Children’s health might be at risk if they continue to be overweight and become obese. They can develop some serious health problems like diabetes, high blood pressure or some heart problems if not controlled. The child’s self-esteem might be also affected and may cause them to be bullied that may lead to depression. These effects will be very serious if not given any attention.

Therefore I conclude, that children’s obesity in western countries are sometimes caused by parents and its effects can lead to some serious issues like health problems, low self-esteem.