A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

As the modern world is going on, people’s worth is likely to be judged by statuses on social media and material belongings. Old-fashioned values like kindness, faith and honour seem to be less important. I totally disagree with this idea.

Social media nowadays are things that affect people the most, because it is the first thing we see in the morning and last thing we see before going to sleep. By just uploading fake inspirational statuses and pictures of appealing luxury products, somebody can now be an influencer. And people keep on believing in those influencers but they do not know there might be hidden stories behind their posts on Instagram or Facebook. They might have cheated on their lovers, they might have turned their backs on their friends... In addition, material possessions actually mean nothing, it just symbolizes how much money people have, maybe they do not even own those material possessions.

Old-fashioned values still play an important role in our life. Relationships still need kindness, trust, honour to be maintained, and people still build up new relationships based on old-fashioned criterias. For example, family members have to trust in each other. People, who had achievements for society, still be honoured for what they had done and the world is now kinder towards the ones who are sorry for mistakes they had made. At the end of the day, the real connection between people is trust, kindness and honour.

In conclusion, I disagree with the idea that old-fashioned values like kindness, faith and honour do not seem to be as important as social status and material possessions when it comes to judging a person’s worth.