Planting trees is very important for the environment. Some people say trees should be planted in the vacant areas of cities and towns. While others believe housing facilities should be built instead. What is your opinion?

Climate change has emerged as a major problem in recent decades. Many people advocate that trees should be planted in unused land in various cities and towns whereas others argue building houses is more important. I believe owing to the environmental challenges being faced by humanity, plantation of trees should be made top priority.

Trees play a vital role in cleaning air and prove significantly effective in dealing with pollution problems. Statistics indicate that air quality in big cities has dropped rapidly worldwide in last few years. This has lead to emergence of environmental issues like smog, which has detrimental effects on respiratory system of humans. For instance, the incidence of lung cancer has increased in Pakistan due to excessive pollution. Moreover, massive smoke from vehicles has resulted in various types of allergies and other health issues. Therefore, growing trees in land not being used for housing purposes can lead to a healthy air in towns and cities.

The major reason of people supporting building houses instead of growing plants is catering to the needs of homeless. They think that those without a home should be provided with basic facility like a roof for living and spare land in cities can be used for this purpose. However, such people can be accommodated in large houses already built by the community and unused land should be used for collective benefit of humanity instead. Also, having a home is largely useless if the quality of life is abysmal due to breathing in unhygienic air. Hence, using extra land for trees is far more important to ensure a better life on earth.

To conclude, some people advocate building residences in spare area of towns and cities to help homeless people. However, in my opinion, those people should be given shared space in already established residential facilities and land should be used for vegetation. Considering pollution indices and climate change, it is the only way to protect humanity and improve its standards of living.