Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's modern world, the environmental crisis in which mankind barely survives has become a major concern. Thus, a part of the population believes that a measure to reduce this crisis is to prohibit plastic shopping bags. Personally, I completely agree with this statement, however, I believe that there are other ways to improve this situation.

To begin, the main reason that shows how important is to stop using plastic bags is the fact that they are very dangerous for animals. To explain that, the environment is not only the flora of the planet but the fauna as well, so anything that has negative impact on any of them should be stopped. More precisely, the lightweight of these bags gives them the ability to travel with the help of the wind to every place in the world. Unfortunately, since the Earth is 65% covered by water, they end up in oceans, where sea creatures like turtles eat them because they consider them as jellyfishes. Individual studies have shown that almost 1.500 underwater animals find death caused by plastic bags. Therefore, the prohibit of these bags is essential for their survival.

Nevertheless, from my perspective and experience, banning plastic bags is a temporary and necessary solution, however, it will not change dramatically the enviromental dead-end in which we are. Therefore, the government with the assistance of global organizations should educate the population about major environmental problems, like the greenhouse effect and deforestation. They should raise awareness in the population about the importance to maintain our planet clean. Thus, with these actions and the ban on plastic bags, many environmental problems will be reduced.

To conclude, it is apparent that we live in a nearly destroyed planet. Although, it is in our hands to reverse this situation. The prohibit of plastic bags with a targeted education about the environment will soon prevent the detriment future of our kind.