Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Use your own ideas, knowledge, and experience and support your arguments with examples and with relevant evidence

It is a true fact that various types of famous sports activities are useful for organizers and hosting countries. It is considered by many that these events play a vital role in relieving international conflicts and generate patriotic feeling among citizens in a secure way. To a certain extent, I would agree with the statement but many popular events have been created a war-like situation among supporters in past time.

On the one hand, during international events such as European football match or commonwealth games supporters and players from all over the world took part and they play with enthusiasm and represent their nation. In other words, they represent their patriotic emotions for home country safely. Furthermore, at the same time, these games also improve international relationships. To illustrate, when players welcome each other and shake hands with full warmth in spite of internal conflicts between their countries it would generate brotherhood feeling in supporters and nations. In addition, international games are also introduced culture and customs of rival countries and this trend further helpful in improving relationships between countries.

In the contrary, sometimes these games might be a cause fight among supporter or players. If it would happen then it makes a bad image of nations over the world and further upsurges the international tensions. Moreover, in these conflicts many innocents people are involved and it might degrade the good relationships between countries.

To sum up, international games can be fruitful in improving the relationship between rival countries but supporters and players should control their spirits and release the feeling of patriotism safely.