Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons and relevant examples to illustrate your points.

It is generally believed that sporting events held at a global scale like World Cup can provide a driving force to relieve the stress on cross-border relationship and promote proper patriotism. I completely agree with this opinion as the core of these occasions are to strengthen world peace and facilitate global solidarity.

On the one hand, it is the message of peace and unity conveyed by global sporting occasions that contributes to the alleviation of international conflicts. This philanthropic aim is exemplified by the fact that these competitions are opened to every civilian from every corner of the globe regardless of their nationality, race, gender and religion. As athletes gather at the host country to contest, they would disregard the existing conflicts between nations and devote themselves to the spirit of the game as well as give their best performance instead. Furthermore, the importance of coordination and solidarity are further accentuated as a part of the highly influential sports spirit radiated by these events. All of the above goes to prove that international sporting events are organized to emphasize how humans can ease cross-cultural tensions and unite to gravitate towards a common goal in peace.

On the other hand, it is true that transnational sporting events enable people to express their support for their nation in an adequate manner. Their patriotism, more precisely, is depicted through professionalism and great endeavor without undermining their contestants’ country even when they fail. As they compete to win the highest rank for their country, participants around the world must conform to a predetermined set of rules which is to compete fairly with mutual respect to other contestants. For example, the patriotism of Olympic athletes is displayed by the relentless effort put in the match like how intense they have trained in order to earn prizes for their country. However, throughout the game, there is little or no conflict. These athletes even display compliments on the performance of their rivals or show admiration for their skills.

As mentioned above, the fundamental aim of international sporting events plays a pivotal role in not only reducing cross-country tensions but also providing a vehicle for contestants to express their positive patriotism.