The popularity of news media often has significant influence on people’s lives. Some people believe this to be a negative development.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, television news is the main source of information. It carries a significant impact on a society. Some people, however, oppose such developments and argue to the point, that it might affect the overall population in a negative manner. I believe, that media these days have more negative influences than positive ones.

To begin with technology has grown enormously in the past two decades. It is argued, that such developments have brought comfort an ease to human lives. For instance, information about situations sprouting across the globe is made accessible by news. This facility has oriented majority of the population towards television use, in order to achieve political awareness. Therefore, most of the individuals are now well informed regarding different political aspects of their countries. In addition to that, it is readily available, as various channels are continuously broadcasting news from time to time. One does not have to visit libraries, book shops or internet facilitated areas, consequently, saving time and energy.

However, in recent times media is playing a more damaging role towards a society. Firstly, instead of being neutral these days news broadcasting channels are usually biased. Despite the growing awareness in general population media reports are somehow inclined in favor of a political party.Thereby, deviating a community from original track. Such trend is particularly harmful for youngsters. Secondly, in recent times reporters claim false news and depict it in a more factual way without any references, in order to sell the story. For instance, everyday new stories develop regarding corrupt leaders, but in the end lack of evidence and references are the basic reasons of case closure. These fabricated news usually results in strikes and chaos amongst public. Furthermore, expansion of TV network has removed certain conventional methodologies of research. . To illustrate, newspaper reading and book reading are hobbies that are very rare in the upcoming generation, whilst, younger people avoid libraries and mainly bank on the news that are aired on televisions.

To conclude, i agree that television news being an important source of information is growing in a fashion that could prove very deleterious for overall community. I hope governments around the world discuss this issue and without any haste chart out a scheme to minimize the negative influences it has already generated.