Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains.

Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

"Industrial revolution" made its premier among the politically unstable European countries around the 18th century and changed the world once and for all. Innovations plundered in various government sectors ranging from automobiles, agriculture, health and hygiene. This sets the cascade of the great population surge in developing countries, hence demand for food grains to feed the growing population rose. Politicians and scientists started planning the implementing of genetically modified crops for better production of food grains. Positives and negatives of this approach will be discussed in the following paragraph.

Firstly, Gm crops are scietifically modified plants in order to meet the shortcomings of the naturally grown crops. Decreased suspectability to infection and pests is the most potent benefit of GM crops over natural crops, as natural crops are highly vulnerable to all kinds of diseases and thus usage of pesticides and unwanted chemicals drastically increases. This is avoided by GM crops, in addition the other advantages include, higher yield per square acre, drought resistent.

Every innovation has its unavoidable side effects and GM crops are indifferent to this fact. These genitically altered crops are infamous among general population as this is considered unethical and against the nature's will. Apart from moral values, recent studies shows GM crops may be less nutritious and can be thethered to many health related side effects including growth retardation and diminished mental growth.

With every usuful invention, the human society takes a giant leap towards betterment and as a fact coin always has two sides. Hence with the scientific advancements there is always hope for turning better sides of a coin.