At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The shift of demographic structure is occurring in the world with a relatively significant increase of the young adult segment, leading to population proportion change. The debate follows with a primary point on whether the young adult percentage rise will bring more benefits. This essay attempts to impart facts on this convoluted issue.

Of course, the disadvantages are perceived since a young adult is still a tyro, with an inchoate mindset and attitude affecting their decision-making process. The immaturity may cause improper directions if the young adults face challenging issues professionally. For instance, due to a paucity of professional experiences, a young adult, serving as a manager in a start-up called Zero, tended to carry out a “trial and error” approach and then resulted in failure, bringing the new company to the brink of bankruptcy. This situation is in contrast to an established company led by older people whose personal and professional experiences have been proven along with time.

However, the young adult population increase will bring more benefits. Generally, with immense zeal and energy adhered to their body and mind, they will bring efficiency and productivity in professional work. This fresh and natural characteristic also supports them to think more creatively with better endurance compared to their older counterparts. While older ones quickly feel lethargic with a particular workload, young adults will show a more positive attitude; they are equipped with a willingness to learn new things and work relentlessly, leading to a more outstanding performance. To illustrate, Facebook and Gojek, led by young adult managers, produce unprecedented innovation and success, changing a national economic structure positively. Ideas shown by those decacorns represent young adults’ natural characteristics.

To conclude, professional inexperience possessed by young adults can be compensated with their immense positivity brought to professional work. Additionally, the weakness will dwindle as time goes by; Young adults will learn and absorb lessons to expand their experience over times. Therefore, I agree with the thesis on the advantages of having more young adults outweigh the disadvantages.