"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

You should write at least 250 words.

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In terms of a nation's health spending, a huge chunk should veer away from curative and must go to health information dissemination and measures to prevent illnesses. I strongly agree with this statement.

Today, even with the numerous advancements in medical technology, countries are still struggling to cope with the increasing numbers of morbid diseases that require treatment. Personally, I think there could be a way to reverse that, by allowing more capital budget go to ways to inform people and other ways to prevent diseases. One good example is by reinforcing reproductive health education at school levels, this way adolescents can be made more aware of the consequences that may arise because of engaging in unprotected sex, such as unwanted pregnancies and more worse sexually- transmitted infections. Schools and other government agencies can also hand out contraceptives to further reinforce the benefits that they try to gain. Another way is by promoting healthy lifestyle. We all know the harms of frequent cigarette- smoking, hospitals are packed with people dying with respiratory complications. For me, it is the duty of the state to impose laws that are capable of lowering it down. People should be made aware of the risks, TV commercials, symposiums have all been known to decrease cases to some extent though not entirely.

In my own opinion, it is easier to stop diseases at its roots rather than wasting a nation's entire resources to treat a full blown case that is impossible to cure, on that note, I strongly agree that more budget should be spent to health education and preventive measures.