Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic.

"Prevention is better than cure."

Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

You should write at least 250 words.

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with

examples and relevant evidence.

Prompt suggests that a major chunk of a nation’s health budget should be transferred from treatment to spreading awareness on health and disease prevention, because preventing the onset of a disease is more effective than curing it. I believe that eliminating the symptoms in the preliminary stage or even preventing them from developing, is the best way to fight certain diseases. However, there are certain diseases whose preventive measures are still unknown or not viable.

On one hand, there are certain diseases namely HIV, COVID-19, Ebola, etc., where we can adopt some precautionary measures to immune ourselves from getting affected. For instance, in the recent COVID outbreak, usage of mask, maintaining social distancing, regular washing of hands, sanitizing, etc., are some cautionary measures suggested by W.H.O as vaccine development was still in progress. On the same lines, many countries spent money to spread education and bought goods such as masks, sanitizers, handwashes, which resulted in the decrease in reported cases to a large extent. Hence, it becomes very crucial to eliminate the cause, as the cure is still underway or very expensive in its current stage.

On the other hand, there are certain diseases that are genetically inherited. They may be rare, but sometimes can be fatal. For example, Down Syndrome is genetically acquired and is difficult to prevent. Adding to it, there are certain diseases whose preventive measures are unknown. There is a possibility where some people get affected even after undertaking the stated measure. So, countries should be spending on treatment and research of such diseases.

To conclude, the spectrum of health care is a broad category covering a wide range of diseases and treatments, it feels almost impossible to come-up with a fool proof distribution of the budget for the same. The division might change according to the circumstances and diseases. Therefore, maintaining a healthy balance on spending between curing and preventing, revising the policy in intervals, should be the keen focus of health policy makers.