Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the

following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in

newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we

become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was

reported?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with

examples and relevant evidence

The news telecasted on television, and printed in daily newspapers is decided by the news editors. Factors such as political inclination, funding, etc., influence these decisions. Such biasedness may result in the manipulation of news and the promotion of bad news. However, it would be for the greater good of society if they report more good news than negative news.

It is a known fact that many politicians and corporates own and fund news channels and other media. Working in the favor of their interests will be at most priority for the operators and going against them might not be allowed. A recent study showed that around 80% of media giants are funded by political parties/corporates in the United States. In the other set of media channels that operate independently with less political influence, the decisions are based on the ideals of the editors.

Dispositions as stated above often result in propagandist news circulation in society. Scientifically, it has been proved that the human brain gets more stimulated by such bad news. Hence, we tend to read or watch such news as opposed to good. In the long run, we get used to such news and would be opaque to positive news. So, to have balanced thinking and to promote unbiased thinking, mainstream media should also focus on reporting good news along with other news.

In conclusion, the content put out by the media companies is likely to be influenced by the funding company, or person resulting in biased and favored news. This often offsets the good content consumed and polarizes the viewers. Therefore, healthy and balanced news is good for a progressive society.