You should spend 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

You should write at least 250 words.

There is question about how news editors decide what to broadcast in television or what to print in newspapers. Of course, there a variety of reasons behind the calls they make. One of which is the values that their company subscribes to. Another is the current thrust of management. Third, are the benefactors who provide financial support. Finally, the so-called human interest that sells to the public is one more factor in what news editors decide to present to the public.

Given the complexity of deciding whether bad news or good news to present, the news editors try to find the balance of the two. On the one hand, due to the nature of world today, with the amount of negative issues surfacing, primarily presenting bad news is not entirely bad, as we are always forewarned. We are given a chance to gear up and prevent untoward incidents. Knowing what to expect and how to protect ourselves is a matter of ensuring our survival. This is where the importance of the news editors’ role in bringing the bad news to the fore lie. On the other hand, being exposed constantly to the bad news may bring about a negative effect on people. Nowadays, people are stressed and look for ways to improve their feelings of negativity brought about by the pandemic that has stifled every person, society and nation worldwide. Hearing and reading only about the bad news that we are already very much aware of, only heightens the stress and threatens our mental health. If television and newspapers only present the bad news, people will inevitably avoid watching the news or even reading newspapers. As are result, the television networks and print media will be forced to downsize and lay off people, or even shut down completely. This then, could lead to more mental health issues among the people, thereby threatening society’s existence all the more. With this being the case, it would be better to present the good news over the bad news, wouldn’t it?