Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the

following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in

newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we

become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was

reported?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with

examples and relevant evidence

The news telecasted on televisions and printed in daily newspapers is decided by news editors. There are many factors such as political inclination, funding that influence these decisions. Such biasedness may result in manipulation of news and in promoting bad news. However, it would be in the grater good for the society if we report more good news rather than negative news.

It is a known fact that many politicians and corporates own and fund the news channels and other media. Working in the favor of their interests will be the at most priority for the operators. For instance, The New York Times is owned by Amazon, so it would be highly unlikely to see a news published by them against their parent funding company. Also, some of the media channels operate independently with less political influence, in such companies, the decisions are in based on the ideals of the editors.

Dispositions as stated above often result in propogandist news circulating in the society. Scientifically, it has been proved that human brain gets stimulated by such bad news. Hence, we tend to read or watch bad news as opposed to good. In the long run, we get used to such news would be opaque to positive news. To have a balanced thinking and to promote unbiased thinking, mainstream media should also focus on reporting good news along with other news.

In conclusion, the content put out by the media companies is likely to be influenced by the funding company or person, resulting in a biased and favoured news. This often offsets the good content consumed and polarizes the viewers. Hence, a healthy and balanced news is good for a progressive society.