The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggests that the television channel should broadcast weather and local news over national news to attract more viewers and advertizers. The author substantiates his claim by stating that the advertizers canceled their contracts during the past year since the increased national news broadcasting time and the customers started complaining about the coverage of local and weather news. However, there are some major flaws in the evidence on which the conclusion is drawn. Unless these flaws are cleared, we won't get a sound conclusion.

Firstly. The author assumes the current trend over the past year will continue in the upcoming years, as well. But, we have no evidence about the year that was taken into reference, maybe the year mentioned above be an year of recession or the year where new government reforms are implemented. So, we donot know how the future years are going to turn out for the advertisers and for the company. Companies should take decisions based on prolonged analysis over years and not just one year. So, time frame used to draw the inference seems too week to make the conclusion ubiquitous. We need more evidence about the subsequent years or previous years performance of the channel to make a sound argument.

Secondly, It is stated that the viewers are concerned with the channel's coverage of weather news and local news. Maybe, the recent coverage of a local event by the channel is controversial and caused outrage among the viewers. This might also reduce the advertisers confidence on the channel. Also, There is also a possibility that the weather predictions that the channel is putting out are majorly flawed and not covering the actual truth. In such cases, the viewer who rely on the channel to make their plans based on the forcast might end up drafting a plan that is potentially bad. If either of the above scenarios are true, the reason for the complaints or decreasing revenue is not because of the national news coverage but because of other reasons. Hence, the conclusion drawn by the writer doesn't hold water.

Finally, We have no idea about what kind of national news is being broadcasted in the channel. There is a possibility where the locals are majorly interested in sports but the major focus given by the channel management is politics or economics. Also, the locals may be interested in long fruitful debates across various topics rather than a news anchor just reading out facts. They may view these debates for longer durations which can encourage advertizers to shift back again to our channel. So, we donot know if the content or way of presentation of national news is an issue or the national news as a whole is an issue. Therefore, we need more evidence on the above discussed issues in order to derive make make the conclusion all-persuasive.

To conclude, The argument as it stands now is based on many unstated assumptions if actually answered might actually weaken the argument. We might need more information and discussion on the content of news, locals preferences and long- term data to derive a concrete conclusion. And, we can actually come up with a solid solution to increase the revenues of the channel.