Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from
treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To
what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement
In this world, many people are dying from various types of health-related
problems due to the lacking of appropriate health education and preventive
actions. That is why the government expends a huge amount of money finding an
appropriate approach to this matter. By this, I mean that more money needs to be
spent on programmes to prevent major illnesses and educate the public on their
dangers.
There is a lot of ignorance about many common health problems, like heart
disease for example. Many of these can be predicted/avoided, or their
symptoms/effects radically reduced, if more people are made aware of them
through public education programmes. This has already been proven in many
countries. The UK, for instance, has seen a remarkable decrease in the number of
women dying from breast cancer because social marketing campaigns provide
information on potential threats and promote regular self-examination to discover
this critical disease. With public awareness at its highest level ever, citizens are
more health conscious and have the tendency to perform periodic medical checkup, which is beneficial in the long run.
Although I am strongly in favour of spending money on such programmes, I do not
believe that the current health budget should suffer/ be maximized for this sole
purpose. The day to day treatment which patients are currently undergoing/
experiencing is just as important. We must find the money for this crucial cause
elsewhere. At the moment our government spends billions of dollars on weapons.
If they diverted/ reallocated only a fraction of this into the health budget, medical
facilities could be extensively improved and aids are given to more
underprivileged people. Ultimately this would result in a significant reduction in
the number of patients whose illnesses have not been prevented and in need of
urgent medication, which, along with health-protecting and preventive programs,
can improve the health of the nation as a whole.
In the end, whilst it is important to invest in a range of treatments available to
people currently receiving them, I firmly believe that the government should also
place an importance on disbursing the money to implement programmes which
keep us in good health.