Nowadays, large shopping centers and supermarkets are more common than
small local shops. Is this a negative or positive development? Give reasons for
your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or
experience.
Supermarkets and shopping centers have gained immense popularity over the
past few decades due to a range of conveniences they offer. I firmly believe this
phenomenon is a positive one.
To begin with, shopping malls and supermarkets provide consumers with a wide
range of goods and products. This is particularly convenient to shoppers as they
can compare between various brands before purchasing items that best suit their
needs, while this satisfaction can hardly be achieved when they shop at smaller
stores. Shopping in big complexes could also act as an efficient time-saver for
busy modern shoppers as they could obtain almost everything they need under
one roof and benefit from a lower chance of low stock.
Furthermore, the quality of products in supermarkets and shopping malls is
trustworthy and superior to those from traditional outlets. It is a given fact that
these giant stores only go into partnership with the suppliers who can provide
products of premium quality and at a reasonable price. This requires
manufacturers to make every effort to innovate their production lines and
enhance their product quality in order to compete against other rivals to attract
more customers. This would then benefit the end users.
Last but not least, large shopping center accommodates various service-oriented
features and activities other than merely retailing goods. To be more specific,
consumers can enjoy children’s playground, virtual reality games or movies in
incorporated cineplexes. This would result in a satisfying shopping experience,
thus obtaining an increase in returning visits.
To conclude, since supermarkets offer shoppers with reasonably-priced and high
quality products with wonderful experiences, I believe the prevalence of
supermarkets is a positive development.