Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others
in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages
outweigh the advantages?
It is undoubted that there are a lot of arguments about the effect of “peer pressure”
on youngsters. From my perspective, this phenomenon can lead to both benefits
and drawbacks.
On the one hand, young generations’ being affected by others can bring out some
obvious advantages. First, “peer pressure” is (more) likely to help the youngsters
(to) effortlessly blend into the new community and alleviate the gravity of social
isolation due to/thanks to some similar characteristics and hobbies. Moreover,
“peer pressure” can make a valuable contribution to boosting the cooperation and
solidarity among students in the learning process through teamwork and
discussions. Finally, the young try their best to not only improve themselves but
also to achieve an ambition. In this ways, their determination is emphasized.
On the other hand, “peer pressure” also results in some adverse demerits. There is
no denying of that the omnipresence of this circumstance would make the young
people become more envious and allocate their time and money to keep up with
their friends. Some girl students, for instance, squander their tuition on buying a
first-class handbag like the one their friends have. Furthermore, it is certainly true
that youngsters are bound to find it hard to express their distinction and creativity
when they are in a group in which everyone is the same because of being afraid of
boycott and abomination.
In conclusion, it seems to me that peer pressure can lead to some significant merits
to the young besides (some) inevitable setbacks. As a result, young people should
know the best ways to take advantage of this phenomenon.