Prevention is better than cure Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures To what extent do you agree

It is an irrefutable claim that more and more people are suffering from various ailments across the world.According to some people, the government should spend a huge amount of capital on the treatment and research of diseases so it’s preferable to fund preventive measures. In my opinion, I disagree that medical treatment and researches are exorbitant so preventive measures should be adopted. This essay will justify it by providing few reasons in subsequent paragraphs.

A good reason to invest a large amount of money in discoveries of new medicines and medical equipment is that it would help in saving valuable human lives.

There are numerous diseases like cancer, genetic disorder, plastic surgery, congenital anomalies which require new medical technologies to be developed. At present 65% of people are dying from several diseases because of a lack of better medicines and equipment. This results in an increase in the death rate and is very alarming, which can be avoided by investing money in better medical treatments and researches.

Another point to consider is that providing sufficient funds on adequate health education and teaching preventive measures means resolving many communicable diseases such as AIDS, cholera, typhoid, and dengue. For example, World Health Organisation conducted a campaign called “Harmful effects of Smoking”, which runs globally and it has helped in reducing the cases of tuberculosis by 30%. This has resulted in a huge decrease in the number of tuberculosis cases in many poor African nations.

Finally, studying and treating diseases is a must for increasing human life expectancy to an average of 85 to 90 years. This will result in humans working another 10 years which can contribute to the economy. In other words, the citizens of the country can benefit in terms of life expectancy as a whole.

In conclusion, funding in medical research and treatment by the government is a must for saving lives, generating awareness, and increasing human life expectancy.