"Prevention is better than cure"

Out of countries health budget , a large portion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays epidemic and endemic diseases are fundamental issues of medical world. It is considered that, out of annual medical budget some portion should be allocated to promote health education and to guide general population to opt preventive methods instead of regular treatments. I believe, such practice will carry positive impacts on overall health of the community.

To begin, active treatment has always been considered as the cardinal element of a healthy society. It is argued that, most of the epidemic diseases are water borne. These disease require active measures to overcome. Thus, promoting health education has a limited role in this case, thereby, resources should be invested in hospitals and health institutes. In addition to that, distributing the annual health budget in various categories will effect health professional's net income, therefore, such steps would upset the established order. Subsequently causing riots and strikes amongst doctors.

On the contrary, encouraging health education has very fruitful effects on the overall community. First of all, some of the common fatal health disorders can be prevented by performing minor tasks. To illustrate, during early 1980s in India, radios and television channel ran commercials regarding the benefits of mosquito nets in preventing malaria, at the beginning of 1990 malaria rate dropped by 65% in tropical zones of India. Secondly, health education promotes healthy life style and it eliminates risk factors of infectious diseases, for example China faced on of the most horrible epidemics in the form of Cholera, and this condition was abolished when people were informed about the use of fresh and clean water.

To conclude, although medical treatments are of significance. I believe, that health education is far more important and it must be supported by governments financially to improve health condition of the entire nation.