Problem and solution essays: Education and teaching.

These days, in many countries fewer and fewer people, want to become a teacher, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved.

The teaching profession is losing its popularity. Majority of graduate prefer jobs with a better pay scale. In my country, the problem getting worse day by day and it is important to take steps to make teaching a lucrative profession. This essay will focus on the main causes of the problem, and propose some solution.

One of the main cause of the problem is considerably lower pay scale of the teachers in comparison to other professions. For instance, the average monthly income for a marketing professional is significantly higher, and has additional benefits. In Ukraine, the young doctor with no work experience, earns three times more than a teacher with 30 years of experience. The best solution is for the government to increase teacher’s salary, which should attract more people into the profession.

The second cause of a problem is challenging pupil’s behaviour. Modern day students don’t respect the teachers. The pupils disobeying are the biggest problem for the teachers. The intensive exposure to the new technology and bad parenting could be the reasons for that. To tackle this issue, parents must do a better job in parenting their children and teach them to respect the teachers.

The third cause of the problem is an enormous amount of paperwork. Usually, along with the teaching teachers have to perform a lot of paperwork such as preparing materials for the classes, checking homework and filling up the classroom journal. This problem could be solved simply, by hiring more teacher assistants. It can significantly improve the work-life balance for teachers.