Professional workers like doctors, nurses and teachers make a greater contribution to society and so should be paid more than sports and entertainment personalities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As expected, the public is split over whether employees with expertise, such as doctors, nurses and teachers, should gain a higher salary than those in sports and entertainment. In response to this controversy, some people insist that it is reasonable for personalities in sports and entertainment to earn a lot of money. Contrary to theirs, I firmly believe that professional workers should be paid a considerable remuneration.

Primarily, it is of paramount importance to understand that these professional workers are no less than the most important roles in our daily life. this point would carry great weight, because people tend to ignore them and take their services for granted. For example, someone might consider doctors dispensable when he is healthy and think his favorite football team is essential in his life. However, once he suffers from toothache, he could only turn to doctors. Otherwise, he would be unable to return to his normal life track, not to mention following his football team. Therefore, it is crystal clear that these professional workers are a footstone of functioning social life.

On top of that, it is also significant to come to the realization that the pay of sports and entertainment personalities is not compatible with their contribution sometimes. this argument would unsurprisingly enjoy widespread acceptance among the general public, since the enormous amount of wages of actors, some of whom didn’t make much effort, has astonished the public. For instance, an actress earned millions of dollars every year, which is almost ten times as much as that of a teacher, for her reputation rather than her ability. Thus, it is apparent that to maintain the stability of the society, the salaries should agree with the dedication.

Those who hold the opposite view are based on the belief that sports stars spend a lot of time practicing their skills every day, which deserves a high pay. Indeed, there is a certain amount of truth in their argument, but quite honestly, everyone strives to obtain a better performance in his position. Hence, sports salaries should be compatible with the wages most people earn.

To conclude, while there are some arguments against paying more to professional workers, I am convinced that there are compelling arguments for doing so. In view of this, it is fair to say that professional workers are worth a higher revenue.