Pros and Cons of using Facebook

Nowadays, social networking is growing rapidly. The most “giant” in the virtual world today is Facebook. Most people already have this account, either from the artists, officials, teenagers, and even students had already their personal account. Facebook has become very important part of our life. It helps us in many ways and also harming us in other ways. In this occasion, there are some advantages and disadvantages of using Facebook, especially for students.

Facebook gives students additional knowledge. To begin, Facebook is an account which can help everyone to connect with different people from anywhere around the world, include the students, lecturer. It helps improve their knowledge about other places, customs and cultures. For example, students can improve their English by using chatting application that is provided in Facebook, called Messenger. In Messenger, students be able to chat with foreigner in other countries. Therefore, students can learn about how to speak English well. In addition, Facebook also gives the students opportunity to communicate with their friends very easily. Students can use Facebook for group study by creating a group only for studying. They can share any information and learn about homework, assignments, exams, etc in that group. Moreover, studying over the internet is also economical because learners do not have to pay transportation costs, dorm fees and plenty of other expenses as normal students do.

On the other hand, Facebook also brings bad effects to students. First of all, students are spending more time in Facebook than review their lessons. When students browsing on the internet to search assignments, they prefer to chat with their friends about nonsense thing. Badly, Facebook like drugs that will make the students get addicted. Students can spend hours just to read their friends updates and looking at the latest pictures. Another negative effect of distance learning is that there would be no in-class activities in which participants can not only have chances to work in a team but also share their thoughts together.

To sum up, those are some advantages and disadvantages by using Facebook. It is okay that people think Facebook is a fantastic social networking tool. Today, it is difficult to stop using Facebook, especially students. I think students should not use this application too often. Education is the most important thing, if the students use Facebook too much it can disturb their concentration in study.