Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes decorating places as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement? How far colour influence people health and capacity to work?

Discuss advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and give any relevant example or experience you might have to support your answer.

Taking for granted that we are surrounded by colours everywhere we look. Controversially, they play an important role in peoples’ lives, and they affect our way of living for numerous years. Accordingly, they are a subject of a vigorous debate over whether colour schemes have an impact on people’s health and capacity for work. In my opinion, it is true that hues have a great significance on our health and work.

Hues evoke emotions ranging from a feeling of comfort to a pang of sorrow. there is a correlation between colour and human mood. For example, when metropolitan dwellers suffer from tension caused by cities, so they escape to rural idyll in order to alleviate stress. The original rationale for this relaxation is the green colour of nature. Within this context, colour schemes have a desirable effect on people, but it can also have unpleasant consequences. The black associates with arousing a feeling of sorrow as in the funeral, all people wear black clothes to show distress. Therefore, colour schemes have a profound impact on people’s behaviour. It is undeniable fact that hues are important in people lives.

Choosing different hues can boost productivity in the workplace, such as offices, since it contributes to clearing minds. A number of workplaces paint their offices in blue, for it assists with rising concentration, which leads to a growth in the output. For instance, renowned food brands, such as McDonald’s, use a specific colour -yellow- to attract a substantial proportion of clients to buy their products. This is because of the yellow attribute to increase appetite. Furthermore, by decorating hospitals in vivid colours, they will help in treating patients. The White colour is a symbol of peace as not only gives it a peaceful vision but it also relieves patients’ anxiety. As a result, colour schemes have a great value for peoples’ health and capacity for work.

In conclusion, colour deems as a paramount importance for humans’ behaviours. Hence, I believe that color schemes influence how we feel particularly in hospitals and offices.