A recent newspaper article reports that a 14-year-old boy who seriously destroyed his school got a punishment to clean streets instead of sent to the prison, do you think this is right, or the young criminals should be sent to the jail?

An appropriate punishment to youth who break the law is always a heated topic among the public. People argue whether community service is a proper punishment to youths who terribly hurt other people or destroy public property. This essay will discuss the possible reason why people are very kind to the youth offence and whether they are should be suffering more serious judgement such as seal in jail.

On the one hand, folks are treating young offence in a humane way. First of all, age is a large consideration when judge a child who committed a crime. That is because by the law we have to protect youth criminals’ rights and provide a restart opportunity instead of damaging their future. Besides, People considered the child did not really realize what the consequence they have to face if they do things wrong. Shoplifting, for example, some children commit it for fun or even just want to show his or her courage to their peers.

On the other hand, it seems over protecting is a common phenomenon in some nations. To begin with, a light judgement and a minor crime cost may encourage the youth offence to commit another crime. Take the young boy destroyed his school that published in a newspaper as an example, unlike send to jail, most of the community service cannot scare criminals and they are more likely to re-offend. In addition, schools may suffer more if other students doing the same thing. Furthermore, despite the trial should judge the youth criminals depend on the specific situation, the law about youth murders should be revised. Recent news about 12-years-old boy murdered his mother because her strict parenting and finally has been free to go is really shocking the public. Thus, individuals have to take responsibility for whatever they have done and it is necessary to revise the current law about youth criminals in some countries.

In conclusion, although people have to consider the future of youth offence, some particular crime is necessary to deal with severely. Personally, I strongly disagree with the punishment for the student who destroyed the school seriously.