In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

it is undeniable that family is always indispensible part for every people. Nevertheless, in recent years, due to development of society and appearance of numerous economic issues, family structure has become virtually different from the last decades. And this can exert significant influences for daily life of individuals.

Probably, the most radical change is the shifting of extended families towards nuclear households. Increasing of house prices and population density are two primary factors contributing to this tendency. In a society where many people find it more difficult in earning a living and taking care of their children, living in a small group is virtually the only way to reduce the burden of financial difficulty. As a result, families with working mother and single-parent households has become more ubiquitous, especially in city centers. Furthermore, most households nowadays are dual-income, parents are usually away from home and spend less time with children, leading to the lack of monitoring during their formative years. Facing with this phenomenon, parents are likely to opt for child-minding or afterschool childcare modules, rather than spending less time at work to stay with their children.

Consequently, these changes have exerted significant influences in modern families. In terms of children upbringing, family gathering is paramount importance in shaping children’s personal traits and avoid risks of children suffering from social problems. In other words, the less time parents spending with their children, the less opportunities they can absorb conventions and codes of conduct, which may follow them and hopefully lead to successful career. Moreover, being alone at home for a long time without supervision makes children become victimized by bullying, truancy, delinquency. Secondly, disappearance of ties of kinship also brings sense of alienation, especially for those living far away from relatives.

In conclusion, it seems that shifting towards nuclear family structures and lacking of role models for children are main changes of role of families compared to the past. This can become substantial drawback for daily life of many people.