In recent years, many governments have brought in laws to ban smoking in public places, such as bars, restaurants and offices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with banning smoking in public places?

Today, smoking is strictly prohibited at many public places. This ban has been placed through legislation by several governments. I am convinced that this measure is in line with the need of public health safety and customer experience.

One of the main justifications of this ban is the health safety of non-smokers from effects of second-hand smoke. It is clinically proven that smoking has adverse effects on body including lung cancer. If smokers are allowed to smoke at workplaces, for example, it would put their non-smoking peers at the risk of developing chronic diseases. According to a research, those who are exposed to passive smoking are equally liable to the smoking side-effects such as coughs, colds and asthma and in some cases, increased cancer risks by 10 to 19%. Thus, banning smoking is healthy is necessary to promote healthy and safe environment to non-smokers.

Another reason to prohibit smoking at public places like bars and restaurants is increased air quality. Bars and restaurants are crucial establishments attracting millions of the users every year. If smoking is allowed inside these places, it would result in an enormous amounts of pollution released in the air. A 2015 study showed New Jersey bars and restaurants resulted in more than nine times the level of air pollution than its neighboring cities with minimum number of these establishments. Therefore, the ban an imperative step to prevent cities getting more polluted.

In conclusion, government’s intervention to ban smoking in public places is justifiable as it not only ensure people’s health safety, but also works as tool to deal with increasing air pollution in the cities.