In recent years, people prefer to read e books rather than paper books.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, people choose to read e-books rather than paper books .

Electronic books have recently become more popular among quiet a wide range of readers compared to printed ones. In my opinion, I believe that e books have more benefits than drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and the disadvantages of e-books.

Ease of reading is considered one of the significant advantages of electronic books. To be more precise, reading on an e-book reader is a great experience and has many merits. For example, readers will have the ability to zoom in on text, highlight and bookmark easily. They can also read in the dark without any eyestrain thanks to the e-book reader inbuilt light feature. In addition to that, e-books are basically digital copies. Therefore, e readers are very lightweight and they take up less physical space. Take for example, “The Kindle Paperwhite” which is, in fact, a nearly infinite library in your pocket.

On the other hand, digital books are believed to be less valuable than physical ones. Firstly, they lack the emotional or physical connectivity that invites readers to interact with characters and stories. Hence, I can’t imagine readers have ever cried reading an e-book. Secondly, there are some lamented restrictions on sharing digital books with friends or colleagues since they can be used with one account only. For instance, readers can’t share e-books with anyone without sharing their account credentials.

To sum up, e-books are definitely , despite of their drawbacks, a unique form of entertainment based experience that renders advanced features readers can’t get from a paper book.