In general, people do not have such a close relationship with their neighbors as they did in the past .

Why is this so , and what can be done to improve contact between neighbors?

Neighbors in the past used to have a major role in life, which is that they would help in any problems and actually being a good friend in general. Nowadays people have grown distant from one another that they wouldn’t even know who their neighbors are, thus people have been socially isolated.

There are a couple of reasons to which people have been enclosed. To begin with, the public now would move from area to area, and they wouldn’t linger in the same district for long. Therefore, if they did interact with the neighbors it would only be a temporary friendship, which they would only get attached to if the neighbors where actually friendly. Then, in the present women and men spend more time at their jobs than home, but in the past a few of the women worked and men usually arrived home early. Hence, they have created a stronger bond with their colleagues than their neighbors.

For every problem there exists a solution, consequently several solutions exist for the bond between neighbors. First, the owners of the compound could build between every 4 buildings an area where neighbors could meet like a playground for the kids. Second, when a person is new in the region they should go and question their neighbors about the community. These resolutions won’t strengthen the bond between the neighbors as it was in the past, but somehow it would at least create a bond.

To sum up, people have lingered apart as the years passed due to not settling permanently and contributing most of the time at work. Bonds between neighbors could be recreated by communication and having a common interest or activity.