In recent years, the structure of a family and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

Over the past few decades, the fabric of families has considerably altered. As a result, some changes about the function and organization would obviously stem from this phenomenon, which exerts several positive outcomes.

Families have undergone two main alterations regarding the size and the role of the elder. First, the structure of a family tends to experience a decrease in the number of family members. In particular, nuclear families have superseded extended families and currently become the most common type of household. This is because young couples opt for independence and privacy, meaning that they can have more space and do not have to worry about the presence of their siblings. Second, the words of the old members are now less dictatorial and rather be advice for their children. For example, years ago, parents were the ones who decided the marriage and career for their offspring, while these days, young generations are able to retain control of their life.

From my perspective, the above-mentioned changes are of advantage for the contemporary citizens. When having the freedom from other family members, newly-wed couples can relieve the financial burden of raising other relatives, allowing them to devote all their income to their kids’ development since formative years. Furthermore, a child in a nuclear family would have more space to enjoy both indoors and outdoor activities, which enables him to fully grow and broaden his knowledge. Looking at another angle, if the young’s options are not restricted by their parents, they can at liberty to determine their future and enter into the marriage with their beloved ones. To be more specific, youngsters can pursue their dream jobs instead of following their fathers’ careers which are out of their interest.

In conclusion, I believe that the changes are relevant to the family capacity and the importance of the elderly’s words.