Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. To what extent do you think is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that most machines are now operated by the power generated by fossil fuel. While some individuals denounce the application of new energy, in my opinion, the practice of consuming alternative sources of energy besides crude coal is of fundamental importance,

On the one hand, there are some justifications why people hold a belief against the use of new kinds of energy. First, it is the exorbitant price of the renewables that discourages people to make use of these sources of energy. For example, to generate the same amount of electricity from wind turbines, national authorities have to spend two-fold the amount of money compared to using coal. Therefore, the act of following the trend of renewable sources would impose an economic burden on poverty-stricken countries and prevent them from allocating the national budget to other urgent needs. Second, the availability of some new forms of power depends heavily on the weather cycle. Take the use of solar energy in our daily life as an example, were it not for any sunlight, little electricity can be harnessed to cater for all activities that need electricity and power.

On the other hand, I believe that the utilization of alternative types of power plays a pivotal role in preserving the environment from being damaged and exploited excessively. Over the past few decades, hydrocarbon fuel sources have proven to have a devastating impact on the ecosystem. In particular, exhaust fumes emitted from private automobiles have deteriorated the biosphere. This phenomenon causes melting ices in the poles and shifting rains in tropical regions, which destroys the natural habitats and threatens the existence of a lot of species. Furthermore, due to the overexploitation of coal and natural gas, the level of this source of energy has been lowered to an alarming rate. Therefore, human beings will suffer from a dearth of coal and hydrocarbon deposit if the simultaneous consumption of inexhaustible power such as wind, thermal or solar power is not put into consideration.

In conclusion, although there are some adverse effects of the use of alternative sources, I think that it is not to say that this trend does not have any redeeming features.