Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. To what extent do you think is it a positive or negative development?

There is little room for doubt that fossil fuel has always outweighed others when it comes to energy sources. In my opinion, while many assert the finding of source alterations has retarded the country’s development, it still has some redeeming features worthy of consideration.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the replacement of fossil fuel by some other sources will cause great difficulties to the government of some nations. To begin with, it is a task of challenge to seek a source that is as common, reasonably priced and unaffected by weather as fossil fuel. In fact, many renewable sources like solar energy or energy generated from windmills have been put into practice, however they all have demonstrated their shortcomings under natural phenomenons. Besides that, since most of national budget originates from taxpayers’ income, the government should give allocation for other fields that benefit the majority of citizens, particularly education. For example, instead of lavishing on research to find other fuels, the authority should cater for the needs of children from poverty-stricken areas in Vietnam who still have not been gaining access to rudimentary knowledge at schools.

On the other hand, the research on alternative power source should be supported as it can offer enormous advantage for the long term growth of one country. First and foremost, changing from non-renewable to renewable power will cause less damage to the environment, resulting in the improvement in living quality. It is reported that in some heavily-polluted metropolises like Beijing and New York, exhaust fumes coming from fuel-driven cars is the main cause of air pollution, leading to million cases of lung cancer every year. Hence, the alteration in the use of energy source will help governments attain the goal of sustainable development. Second, the urge to find new power source will augment the citizens’ activities in the field of science and technology. For example, the growing number of gasoline-operated bus have been put in use as a replacement for traditional bus which mainly run by the use of petrol and oil.

In conclusion, although the act of finding other energy sources to supersede fossil fuel encounters many problems, I think the positive outcomes of it will outperform those drawbacks.