In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst

younger generations.

Why is this happening?

Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

The consumption of second-hand clothing has increased in the last few years. The reason for this trend is that young generations want to save money from buying new clothes, and this is definitely a positive development because it protects the environment.

It cannot be denied that used clothing is likely to help young people save a lot of money. This is because without searching for brand new clothes, people still have a wide selection of clothes in terms of color, size and style with the same quality. Moreover, boys and girls stand a chance to make bargains for high-brand clothes easier which they are not able to do in expensive clothing stores. One survey in Vietnam revealed that young kids tended to look for used clothes as they could save up to $100 per month and could still get good quality as they want.

Obviously, this trend has a positive impact on the environment. With second-hand clothing, people are recycling them two to three times instead of throwing away after the first use, which is always promoted as one of the best ways to save nature. Besides, the influence that this trend has on the environment is less severe because factories are not required to use many materials such as water and chemicals to produce new clothes. According to one study at Queen University, if the consumption of used clothes increased gradually, it would help reduce greenhouse emissions by 2%.

In conclusion, with the hope to save a lot of money, many young people are switching to consume second-hand clothing, and it is a positive development which contributes to protecting our environment.