In recent years, tourists have paid attention to preserving both the culture and environment of the places they visit. However, some people think that it is impossible to be a responsible tourist. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that more and more tourists have been conscious of cultural and environmental aspects of the countries they visit. Many individuals, however, hold the view that it is impracticable for those travellers to bear responsibility for these aspects. In my opinion, while I agree that attention has been paid to both culture and environment by tourists themselves, I refute the ladder idea that it is infeasible for them to have responsible manners.

It stands to reason that a large number of holiday-makers have been aware of the culture and environment issues of the host nations. In the last decades, tourists used to spark hostility to the locals, in where they visit, seeing that they did litter the street and break the traditional rules and regulations, which are the time-honored traditions of the host countries. But, this is no longer the case in this day and age when individuals are being raised consciousness of the norms and practices of the locals. To illustrate, in Singapore, a country well-know for the hygien practices and street cleanness, visitors often cause frustration because they didnot comform to these strict rules when they pay a visit to this country. With the passing of time, they are gradually adopting the norms of this nation and learn how to protect the environment effectively and efficiently.

However, I do argue that it is a fallacy that tourists cannot be liable for their impacts on the environment and conventions of the countries they flock into. Some proponents of this point of view maintain that those temporary tourist would not adopt all the traditions and ways of protecting environment of the locals as time is limited. But, in my view, it is the matter of consciousness, not time. If, for example, holiday-makers strive to spend one to two days with instructors who excel at convenions and environment practices of the host nations, then it is more likely that they could easily adopt all these norms and practices. Consequently, they could feel more confident when roaming around these nations and even receive hospitality from all the locals there.

In conclusion, while I advocate that cultural and environmental awareness are being developed, it is not impossible for all tourist to behave responsibly with the nations they travel to.