Recently there has been an upward trend in the number of parents sending their children to private classes. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of private tuition.

With rising competition in the job market today, parents have become increasingly farsighted with regard to securing their children’s future. To this end, parents tend to sign their offspring up for lessons to boost their academic performance. While it seems that private classes offer certain benefits to students, there are also certain costs associated with them. In this essay, I shall outline the pros and cons of private tuition.

There is no doubt that learners derive certain benefits from attending private classes. For those who struggle with the content knowledge taught at school, attending enrichment sessions can help fill the knowledge gap and reinforce their what they have learnt from the school curriculum. Moreover, students in higher academic standing may benefit from supplementary lessons that expose them to more advanced concepts and assignments. The overall positive impact of this would be students’ improved academic outcomes, thereby allowing them more opportunities to get admitted to their dream universities or courses, and eventually secure a job of their choice.

These benefits, however, do not come without a cost. As students’ spare time is increasingly dedicated to enrichment classes, time for other activities is essentially sacrificed. For example, evening earmarked for additional classes could otherwise be spent on socializing with peers, bonding with family members, or doing sport, which might in turn hone their soft skills and enhance their physical well-being. Another downside of private tuition is that it can potentially be the cause of unethical practices at school. Teachers who are profit-driven may knowingly conduct subpar lessons at school to boost the turnout of their private classes. Such a practice is not uncommon in developing countries like Viet Nam.

In conclusion, it seems that while private tuition may open more doors for students, it has certain negative personal and ethical ramifications too. One should therefore weigh up the pros and cons and consider their priorities when deliberating whether or not to enroll in supplementary classes.