Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different opinions on which path to take after finishing school. While there are sound arguments for both college and an immediate job, in my view, it depends on the person's profession preferences

Firstly, some professions require in-depth knowledge and a high level of skill that must be developed under the instruction of experts in respective fields. For example, a surgeon needs to be equipped with extensive medical knowledge to react quickly to various situations including death-and-life ones. This knowledge should come from a formal educational context which guarantees both the quality of the teaching materials and able instructors as well as the quality of the output, and college and university are known to be the best place.

On the other hand, academic education plays no role in some types of occupations. For example, hairdressers or footballers could be extremely successful even they are college drop-outs since their skills are acquired through hands-on practice and training that colleges typically do not have to offer. Therefore, going to college is not only a longer route for them but also a waste of time and resources. Moreover, some people who are not bookish or intellectual find the college's environment hard to flourish. By going into a job straight after school, they can explore their non-academic abilities and tap into them instead of investing in something they do not have the potential.

In conclusion, whether opting for higher education or starting a career immediately after school depends on people's desired occupation.