Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

At the present day, people have more conversations via the internet in many contexts, such as business meeting, discussions, and learning. In this essay, I will outline both positive and negative aspects associated with online communication.

Several benefits of internet-based communication can be identified. For one thing, the internet gives a rise to convenience in a way that the meeting or training can occurred at anytime at any distance. In this day, people can have a meeting via the internet by using smart phone, and lap top whenever it would be. Since it does not require each attendances to meet in the same time at the similar place, people’s lifestyles are easier. What is more, it is not needed for the information senders and receivers to communicate in a real-time basis. The shared knowledges and informations can be provided in the internet which can be acknowledged later. The good example of this is the e-learning system which the lecturers post their teaching clips to the e-learning platform. Accordingly, the course takers can follow these lesson later anytime they want.

On the other hand, there are various drawbacks from communication via internet. First, without face-to-face communication could result a lost in some context understanding, especially the emotional senses and feelings. Due to a lack of tones, and gestures, there might have some unclear contexts in explaination. As a result, even though there is a technology facilitating people to communicate online, the important meeting are still be held in a real place like a parliament’s meeting. In addition, the disclosure of information in the internet might be unsecure. Seeing that there are many disruptions, such as an information hack, fraud tools in the internet, some confidential contents might be passed through other unintentionally.

In conclusion, the online communication has several benefits and drawbacks. It can facilitate our people’s life much compared to the offline basis but the security of information could be a concern. However, in my opinion I think the benefits outweigh drawbacks due to the convenience factor which is valuable in all areas of life.