Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

It is true that the large proportion of criminals return to crime after they have been released from prison. there is some reason for the high recidivism rate, but there are solutions that could mitigate the problem.

I believe that there are two main reasons for the majority of re-offender. Firstly, many people have difficulties in finding employment. society would not offer employment to them, even though they are well-informed and proactive. When employers see their track record, they would be straightly rejected ex-criminal. As a consequence, ex-prisoner usually struggle to stand on their foot and they have to commit crimes again in order to their survival. Secondly, in prison, there is no appropriate educational system for the criminal to help them develop their skill for reintegration back into the community. The government lack of funds to establish these training courses for the prisoner, which lead them to be lag behind others and caused them to do another violent crime again.

there are something that should be done to solve this problem. One solution is a cooperation between the government and neighbor in establishing cooperative institutions. By hiring ex-detainees, these organizations could provide services to society, such as a mechanical workshop, saloon or cleaning facilities. another solution is equipping them with some useful skills, as cooking or mechanical during the detention period. Therefore, they would be beneficial for communities and societies.

In conclusion, while important reasons for the rate of re-offending can be identified, some solutions must be taken to deal with this issue.